Horrors! #1937Club

From Weird Tales 29/1 (1937): ‘The Thing on the Door-Step’ by Virgil Finlay

The Thing on the Doorstep
by H P Lovecraft.
CreateSpace Publishing, 2017 (Weird Tales, 1937).

Written in 1933 but not published till 1937 – the year Lovecraft died – ‘The Thing on the Door-Step’ is typical of the author’s weird fiction with its overused adjectives implying horror too obscure, obscene and terrifying to be described, often expressed by an innocent narrator too appalled by what they’re witnessing to join up the dots until it’s too late.

On one level the writing is laughable, the familiar clichés piling Pelion upon Ossa in their determination to shock the reader, the repeated alien names, the constant references to prohibited arcane texts to imply ancient but forbidden knowledge.

On another level Lovecraft’s fiction is deeply uncomfortable to read, here as elsewhere, not for the horror (which by modern standards is tame enough) but for what I and other critics abhor, namely the misogyny, homophobia and racism implicit in the narratives.

Prince of Hell: detail from ‘The Garden of Earthly Delights’ by Bosch.

As a novelette of around 11,000 words The Thing on the Doorstep is a first-person narrative presented as the confession of an apparent murderer, one Daniel Upton of Arkham, Massachusetts. He has shot his best friend Edward Pickman Derby who was just due to be discharged from Arkham Sanitarium, and The Thing is an explanation and therefore justification of his actions.

Both Daniel and the younger Edward had been students of magical lore, but Edward had gone as far as to marry a certain Asenath Waite from Innsmouth, a small New England port inhabited by families with a dubious reputation for black magic. Indeed, Asenath’s father Ephraim was known to be a noted practitioner, and as a student at Arkham’s Miskatonic University Asenath herself was a disturbing influence.

This combination of research into the dark arts and marriage into a possibly degenerate family means that Edward’s career is not likely to end well; and, sure enough, in due course he starts to exhibit changes in personality, behaviour and appearance even while the mesmeric Asenath appears to become increasingly reclusive. It takes a motorcar dash up north to the wilds of Maine to rescue Edward and the return journey along the Massachusetts coastal highway south for Daniel to start to have a real inkling of the existential danger his friend has got into.

Arkham, from ‘The Dictionary of Imaginary Places’ by Alberto Manguel and Gianni Guadalupi

An essay by Anne M Pillsworth and Ruthanna Emrys in Reactormag.com (‘Gender and Identity Anxiety: “The Thing on the Doorstep”’) expresses better than I can the issues surrounding misogyny, homophobia and racism that Lovecraft stories encompass. In particular any women, if and when they do appear (as with Asenath here), are portrayed negatively – as psychic succubi, say, or as mentally deficient whores (‘wenches’). The male friendships that abound in Lovecraft’s stories are never suggested as anything other than homosocial, yet the ‘bohemian’ set at Miskatonic University indulge in behaviours which could be interpreted as homosexual, sufficient at least for blackmail to be involved.

Finally, Lovecraft is often noted as applying his xenophobic notions of white, especially Nordic, supremacy over Jews, people of colour and Native Americans to his fiction, and that is evident here too in his narrator’s references to those responsible for ancient structures in Maine and to the degeneracy of the Innsmouth residents.

Unpleasant and abhorrent his beliefs undoubtedly were, so why do I find myself intermittently drawn back to his mythos? Is it simply the adolescent nerd in me that wants to explore the secret corners of Arkham and what fans call Lovecraft Country, and to document the manuscripts and tomes related to the Necronomicon? Because it can’t be for the characterisation, the subtle plotting or the beauty of the language. Perhaps I’m merely searching for the one or two redeeming literary features that have so far eluded me; for the moment the quest will continue but I’m not sure for how long.


https://kaggsysbookishramblings.wordpress.com/ https://www.stuckinabook.com/

Read for the #1937Club. This is the first title not chosen from my TBR pile so far this year. I’d hoped to read The Years (1937) by Virginia Woolf, but as a copy of this wasn’t to hand I instead found time for this Lovecraft novelette.

The 1972 edition of The Hobbit (1937) by J R R Tolkien can be found reviewed here, while my review of a graphic novel version is here. A Tintin story and a novel by Antal Szerb follow in the next few days.

23 thoughts on “Horrors! #1937Club

  1. I mean, I agree about all the problems with Lovecraft but at his best he’s genuinely terrifying, so I can see why his stuff has survived so long. I still can’t bear to think about ‘Cool Air’.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. If, as I noted in a review of her essay, Angela Carter could admire “the expressionist landscape of imminent dread” that Lovecraft habitually conjured up (https://wp.me/s2oNj1-hpl5) I don’t suppose I can justify not reading him because I’m a bit uncomfortable with his attitudes! It’s the old dilemma, Laura, isn’t it, should we, can we, dissociate our dislike of the views and behaviour of an artist like Eric Gill with the body of work they create?

      Despite my review’s parting shots I don’t think I’ll be dumping my few volumes of HPL’s stories just yet, nor disavowing my obsessive reading of the early 70s! And I’ve yet to come across ‘Cool Air’ . . .

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never read any Lovecraft, I fear it might be just a little bit too weird, although parts of this do sound quite tempting (even though the first thing I thought of when I saw ‘Arkham’ was Gotham/Batman!). From what you’ve mentioned here it sounds like there’s more that may be off-putting too. I did enjoy reading your review though :D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the world of Batman comics, films and games willingly co-opted HPL’s Arkham for its dark brooding atmosphere, and I’m not surprised! Lovecraft’s appeal is to several readerships, not always overlapping – adolescent nerds, Goths, cultural historians, fantasy writers and stern literary critics – so don’t be put off by my passing jaundiced comments, do give him a try. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Aonghus Fallon

    Of the three key contributors to Weird Tales, Clark Ashton Smith was my favourite. I never ‘got’ Lovecraft and actually read very little by him as a result. I just found him so cheesy. That said, he still exerts a big appeal to a lot of people.

    I’ve often heard his work described as ‘Cosmic Horror’ which I think sort of nails it. Lovecraft’s vision of things – of a pitiless cosmos presided over by monsters, with humanity being the exception that proves the general rule – does have corollories with reality. The universe is a vast, cold and empty place. We’re the outliers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never got round to Clark Ashton Smith; when I was in my Lovecraft phase collections of HPL stories (eg published by Panther Books around 1970) were readily available but I don’t remember seeing Smith titles at the time. Yes, cosmic horror is a good tag to append to Lovecraft’s writings – he was well into astronomy, wasn’t he, and doubtless well aware of the immensity of space and humanity’s general ignorance of how vulnerable and ignorant it was.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah, you clearly know me better than I know myself, Brona – I wasn’t sure I could fit in a read of this till the last minute! As for all things Middle-earth, you remind me that though I’ve read LOTR for the umpteenth time I still haven’t discussed the appendices for my #TalkingTolkien series of posts, nor thought what to read next from the related titles I’ve still to consider. Ho hum . . .

      Like

  4. Interesting! I’ve read one Lovecraft and I was actually more impressed than I expected and very unnerved – I think he’s very good at unsettling and suggesting stuff, which I find more effective than out and out horror. I’ve found in my reading for this week that many authors from 1937 have problematic attitudes, to a greater or lesser degree, though I would still be interested in reading more of him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Visiting any literature before our own, um, ‘enlightened’ times is likely to throw up the kind of ‘problematic attitudes’ you mention, but that’s not going to stop us reading all that stuff! I suppose that’s why so many of us bloggers are prepared to read classics from before our lifetimes, to question, to consider and, hopefully, to be enlightened.

      Anyway, I’m certain this won’t be by any means my last foray into HPL’s mythos, but I definitely have to be in the mood to be sucked into his kind of paranoia!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m yet to explore Lovecraft but aside from the misogyny, racism etc (which I know will rankle), this sounds like it could be fun (in an unsettling way)–I assume the degree would vary with the degree to which the problematic attitudes pervade the story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Though Lovecraft was quite vocal in letters about his prejudices in the stories one can assume any implied prejudice about ‘degenerates’, women and so on is usually applied to gossip, rumours, traditions and the like, as reported by the invariably male narrator. The reason I return to these stories again and again is because they’re stylised fun, are rarely truly terrifying and, to me at least, are enjoyable for the way HPL builds up to the inevitable climactic dénouement. Oh, and the language of course . . .

      If you want to sample one of his stories they’re available on Project Gutenberg or at this dedicated site: https://www.hplovecraft.com/writings/texts/

      The shortest of his short pieces is apparently ‘Memory’, and you can read it in its entirety here: https://markhayesblog.com/2017/01/21/memory-the-complete-lovecraft8/ .

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I can’t read the word Innsmouth without hearing an imaginary Dum-Dum-DUM! in my head. I agree with all you say about his reprehensible views, especially the racism, and about the language, but he still has a je ne sais quoi about him. I find small doses work best, though. This was one I enjoyed more than most of the Arkham stories – at least it had a proper ending, and nicely horrid it was too! Like you, however, I suspect I may be coming to the end of my Lovecraft days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, there was a lot of nastiness around then – towards women, Jews, blacks, the Irish, anyone deemed mentally deficient, homosexuals, the lower classes – and the nasty pseudoscience of eugenics, including forced sterilisation, was politically acceptable amongst many Americans when Lovecraft was writing his stories in New England.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: #1937Club: your reviews! – Stuck in a Book

Do leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.