The longest days

20 Books of Summer 746books.com

We’re into June now, the threshold to summer – for those of us in the northern hemisphere at least – and thus an opportune time for bookbloggers to consider hot reads, all courtesy of Cathy at 746books.com.

And when I say ‘hot reads’ I mean the meme 20 Books of Summer and its lesser siblings, 15 Books of Summer and 10 Books of Summer, which I’ve participated in for a few years now as a scarcely incentive to immerse myself in fiction and nonfiction.

And when I say ‘twenty books’ I mean that as usual I shan’t be naming a hard and fast list of precisely that number of titles but merely a wishlist of works I’d like to read – mostly those titles that will fit in with book meme events I want to participate in.

‘Der Bücherwurm’ (1850) by Carl Spitzweg.

Here are six definite possibles (or should that be possible definites?) for me to read over these three months, all designed to fit in with a reading meme or event and all chosen from Mount TBR.

1. Of Cats and Elfins: Short Tales and Fantasies / The Cat’s Cradle Book, by Sylvia Townsend Warner, a copy I bought after enjoying Lolly Willowes (Reading the Meow, 10th –16th June); not to be confused with Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut.

2. The Clergyman’s Daughter by George Orwell (Reading Orwell 2024), my copy originally bought in Southwold where the author’s parents lived, just waiting for an excuse to be read.

3. Strait is the Gate by André Gide (Paris in July 2024): a slim volume (though not, apparently, classed as a novella) this nevertheless comes across as a tough read.

4. Tales of Moominvalley, Tove Jansson (Moomin Week, August). My first visit to Moominland this summer.

5. Moominland Midwinter, Tove Jansson (Moomin Week, August). And here’s my second; I thought I’d already read this – but no.

6. What’s Bred in the Bone (1985) in The Cornish Trilogy by Robertson Davies (Reading Robertson Davies, August, formerly hosted by Lory) – I enjoyed the first part last summer and am looking forward to a return to ivory towers bleached like excarnated skeletons.

Then there are a couple of books sent for me to review not all that long ago (but long enough for me to feel guilty at not yet tackling them):

7. Pride’s Children: Purgatory (2015, first volume in the Pride’s Children trilogy) by fellow blogger Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt, sold to us as “a story of obsession, betrayal, and love”.

8. Katherine’s Wish (2008) by Linda Lappin: a fictional biography of NZ author Katherine Mansfield, celebrated writer of the short story form.

Have you read any of these? If so, what did you think of them?

#ReadRandomly

But mostly I shall be reading randomly from Mount TBR, slotting titles I’ve chosen and finished as the mood takes me into a virtual wall.

A virtual wall? Well, imagine a partition or barrier constructed using a pattern called ‘random walling’. The technique involves components of differing shapes and sizes, chosen from whatever building blocks come to hand, fitted together to form a pleasing but effective structure.

That’ll be how I plan to approach my reading over the long days of summer. But best laid schemes, as we all know, can easily go – pace Burns – agley.

Hmmm. Cartoonist Tom Gauld has a comment apropos this delusion.

23 thoughts on “The longest days

  1. Lovely, I’m looking forward to your review for Meow. The Moomin books aren’t ones I’ve read either.

    Good luck with the shopping moratorium. They do help even if they don’t last as long as one hopes. I did manage one quite well a few years ago, and lately I’ve been fairly restrained too, but then what I don’t through shopping I make up for in review copies leaving me as guilty and ashamed as ever 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mallika. In five months I’ve acquired just two books to read while completing thirty-four titles already on my shelves, so I think I’m doing reasonably well! I’ve long since stopped receiving review copies – yes, the guilt but also the increasing likelihood of sent books not living up to their promise …

      I’ve just started the Sylvia Townsend Warner collection of cat-related short stories, hopefully to finish and review for the middle of June! I enjoyed her Lolly Willowes so I’ll see what I make of this.

      Like

  2. Keeping your options open rather than sticking strictly to a list sounds like a good way to approach your summer reading. I’m also planning to take part in Reading the Meow and Moomin Week and I do want to read the second book in Davies’ Deptford Trilogy, but probably not this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tom Gauld is amazing! Thanks for the picture and the link! Good to see you will get to Katherine’s Wish.

    France has a lot of short novels, but we still tend to consider them as novels. I had not heard the expression “roman court” (short novel = novella) until fairly recently. In the older days, we just called it a novel, whatever the number of pages.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting what you say about romans courts as opposed to the concept of the novella (which I’d always assumed was an Italian term anyway). The accepted ranges in length for general fiction seems to vary, often depending on genre and national tastes, Simenon’s policiers always seeming short to me, for example, compared to many English language crime fiction.

      Online guidelines for aspiring authors generally seem to fall within these ranges:
      Flash fiction: less than 1,000 words.
      Short story: over 1,000 to 7,500 words, usually less than 10,000.
      Novelette: 7,500 to around 18,000 words.
      Novella: 10,000 to 40,000 words.
      Novel: over 40,000 words.

      Yes, Tom Gauld is pretty much always on the button on literary topics, often for the Guardian paper; he also does science-related cartoons for certain periodicals.

      Like

      1. In the English language yes, but we don’t have the equivalent in French. Nouvelle (faux ami, that means short story) and roman (novel, and more recently, we tend to hear more often “roman court” (lit. short novel, ie novella). I have read several books by Tom Gauld, all good, including the one on space

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer is back: Post Your Links Here!

  5. That’s an interesting way of doing things, Chris, and I’ll look forward to seeing what you read. As for Robertson Davies, I really must try to get to him this year. And I will definitely try to get to something Parisian in July – I have plenty of Gide lurking unread, so that would be one option, plus a load of Sartre – we shall see!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Karen. 🙂 The Gide I’m planning on looks heavy-going from the blurb, but at least it’s short. Anyway, I have lots of options for the three months, and I expect you do too – you may even exceed the nominal twenty if you maintain your usual rate of reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I shall have to find a copy of the chanson in translation as I haven’t looked at it in decades, Alicia – in fact knowing the dilettante reading of my youth I probably never completed it!

      Like

Do leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.