Blogs I follow (2)

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/75/Jigsaw.svg

All shapes and sizes. (In a manner of speaking.) That’s how the blogs I follow appear to me. So here’s where I give a shout out to some of the creative ones, those that attracted me when I was regularly updating Calmgrove’s sister blogs, MyNewShy and Zenrinji. Here you will see the counterparts of these two sites, one dedicated to images and the other to fiction and poetry. (The following blogs appear in no particular order, by the way. To view, just click on the link.)

VISUAL

These blogs post digital images in various stages of edit and a range of aesthetics

Rabirius (“photography and other things”) posts high quality shots of things that catch his eye, quirky objects and scenes with epigrammatic titles. My sorts of things. But done better.
The Legion of Door Whores (“…for those who appreciate doors…”) is now a zombie blog, having not been updated for 4 months. I contributed to this for a while but as it’s reached its storage limits I suspect this portal is now closed for business though still available for viewing.
México y más is an enlightening blog by Javier García-Moreno, detailing the treasures of Mexico’s astonishing architectural heritage. Eye-opening posts, day after day, delivering emotion, provoking reactions and awaking passion:  “un fotógrafo tiene que ser auténtico y en su obra, debe expresar emociones, provocar reacciones y despertar pasiones,” as Javier writes.
• Robert’s Ramification Photography exhibits gorgeous architectural photographs of abandoned and decaying buildings, a visual record of some of the gems the American built environment is losing or has now lost. Though he’s not posted for some ten months the archive is worth exploring.
WordsVisual features photography “with some words” by self-proclaimed arty scientist Sue Judd. She uses themes to select striking images to present from her impressive portfolio.
Hello World is a delight for those who love Italy, history, Italian history and a bit more beside that mayn’t be Italian or historic. Though offline for about four months because of her being under the orthopaedic surgeon back in Australia (so to speak) Yvonne promises to return soon with more lovely snaps of and chat about Naples, Venice, Florence etc.
• Lynne’s Echoes of the Past is a lovely mix of photos of historic sites around Britain with some background and commentary. She’s wonderfully enthusiastic about everything she sees — wish I had her stamina! — and invariably interesting.
Implied Spaces (“Between Realities”) is a little uncategorisable: Joseph tells us that, “in terms of architecture, implied space is an extension of the concept of a squinch.” If this renders you no wiser (I know what he means. I think.) you’ll enjoy his altered images, found poetry and general fun with visuals and words occasionally shot through with seriousness.
Lemanshots (“fine pictures and digital art”) is digital artist Josephine’s blog of arresting surreal images, featuring people and objects in new surroundings to create dialogues which may or may not mean anything. “Have fun!” she admonishes, and she’s right.
StillWalks (“making natural connections”) is Alastair’s photoblog of walks he makes, often with accompanying soundscapes, typically around South Wales and Scotland but also elsewhere. With these virtual rambles the idea is to encourage the viewer to get out and walk if possible or, if impossible, find peace and stillness through contemplation of the galleries.
• Ashley tells us her blog Syncopated Eyeball is “Creepy – Spooky – Lovely – Nice” and so her photos turn out to be, if quirky’s what you like. And it is. What I like.
• WordPress seems to randomly decide to unfollow me from certain blogs. (I know this has happened to other bloggers too.) This was the case with Street Photography (Straßenfotografie) when I first composed this post — rectified now. Suffice to say, Lennart (‘Mingophoto’) Schreiber’s  fascinating and mostly European-based pics are exactly as described, and all beautifully observed. His byeline (Beobachtungen am Wegesrand) simply means “observations from the roadside”.

WRITTEN

The following three blogs post mostly poetry or flash fiction or a mix of the two

Bag of Anything (“lies, propaganda, doggerel”): “Thomas Kearney” [he writes] is a made-up name that happens to be identical to the author’s real name. Invention is not his strong suit. I demur; despite this inauspicious introduction you’ll find sensitive, thoughtful poetry in post after post
Inkbiotic is novelist Petra Jacob’s platform for artwork, thoughts and flash fiction, as its byline (“Bizarre little stories and ideas”) suggests; expect the unexpected
• Lynn Love’s Word Shamble (“ambling through life, shuffling words”) regularly posts (as often as daily) arresting flash fiction prompted by themes from setters on other blogs or else powerful extended fiction appearing piecemeal in  cliffhanger episodes
• Author Harriet Goodchild’s Folksong and Fantasy focuses on “Old songs, new writing”. How to describe?  “I read, a lot. I write too. Fantasy, after a fashion. Oh, and I like folk music, nearly as much as reading.” Hence the blog’s title — but oh, there is more than that here, all worth exploring


I hope you have fun exploring some or all of these really varied sites — few of them bite and most respond well to a friendly pat or stroke — and I trust you will appreciate what attracted me to them all. Let me know what you think!

Next time on ‘Blogs I follow’ I shall be looking at some of the more literary blogs around, some reviewing book just like Calmgrove and others generally revelling in all things belles lettres. (Apparently such people are called belletrists. Who knew?)

To come after that I plan a post on miscellaneous blogs that don’t seem to fit comfortably into any one category. Or that I forgot to include in earlier posts. Or even the odd really weird blog that exists out there in the blogosphere …

28 thoughts on “Blogs I follow (2)

  1. Thank you for the mention Chris 🙂 and having finished a day of exploration in deepest Suffolk, I too will explore some of your other mentions. Hope you had a lovey rainless Sunday 🙂

  2. Lovely! I shall visit some of those blogs in a day or so, but now it’s bedtime! (Not sure where you are, but I’m in the UK and it’s now 2.07am!)

    1. Yay! As blogging is the thing we do and what others gauge their impression of us on, it seems only right to show what our tastes in this area are, and to show appreciation for the blogs we value enough to follow.

      The next related post is about book review blogs, of which it appears that the number I follow is rather bigger than I expected …

  3. Some tempting fare, there! Unfortunately, at present, I am building up a backlog of all my own favourites while I do battle with assorted computer programmes painstakingly designed to be as obscure as possible, and which prove more capricious and whimsical than any woman.

    1. I object, and on so many counts! Anyway, I can be very capricious and whimsical too, and as much as any, er, IT program. But I take your point, so just to let you know: it’s not compulsory to follow let alone look at these sites.

      🙂

  4. Thank you so much Chris! It’s a lovely idea, this, sharing some of the blogs you follow with others. Nice to spread the word of others. And I’m very flattered to be included too. Some fascinating blogs here, I might just have to go and wander … 🙂

    1. A pleasure to include you, Lynn!
      Btw, I’m off for a few days and won’t risk your MS to the vagaries of travel, but hope to finish close reading in a week or so’s time, and give appropriate feedback before the month’s out — just to keep you in the loop. Sorry it’s taken so long, too many distractions, I’m afraid …

      1. Ah, thank you so much Chris, that will be amazing – if rather nerve wracking! Thanks for letting me know and being so thoughtful. I hope you have a great time – where are you going? Somewhere sunnier than Britain? x

            1. The summer is rather hit and miss, isn’t it? Glad you had some sun along with the wind and rain. Dry and sunny here, though an autumnal breeze is blowing. Walked up to the top of Cabot’s Towers today and the city did look lovely from up there 🙂

            2. As a schoolboy in the early 60s I spent lunchtime breaks on Brandon Hill, our school’s alternative playground to a flat roof of its then premises in Berkeley Square. Tag, fighting and rolling down green slopes is all I recall until a move in 1962 or thereabouts to Brislington. You may have felt the ghosts of repressed schoolboys when you up there recently?!

            3. Ah, we walked through Berkeley Square on our way back down to Park Street – perhaps we walked the same path you boys strolled reluctantly back to lessons! You had quite a view over the city for your tag. We went to the top of Cabot’s Tower too and even though I’m not averse to heights, even I felt the parapet wall was a little low! 🙂

Do leave a comment

