Mount TBR Challenge

mount-tbr-2017

As 2016 grinds to a halt I’ve decided to eschew all challenges bar one for the New Year. Gone will be the author alphabet, the vague goals of revisiting loved book series or evening up the gender balance. In will be a determination to tackle my pile of to-be-read (or, in some cases, to-be-reread) tomes in between new-to-me books.

To that end I shall go for My Reader’s Block Mount TBR Challenge, which I spotted featured on Lory’s Emerald City Book Review. This involves consuming a set number of TBR books according to your capacity. As you can see from the Challenge Levels listed below, this can range from twelve to over one hundred and fifty books. I’m going for the gentle ascent of Pike’s Peak but, as anyone can ascertain from the not too onerous rules, I shall upgrade as and when I see fit. Now, unlike some, I shan’t be specifying at this stage what I shall go for — I’m not that organised! — but for anyone interested I shall be doing updates through the year.

And that’s it! Do you have a mountain to climb? And do you fancy this challenge too?

Pike’s Peak: Read 12 books from your TBR pile/s
Mount Blanc: Read 24 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Vancouver: Read 36 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Ararat: Read 48 books from your TBR piles/s
Mt. Kilimanjaro: Read 60 books from your TBR pile/s
El Toro: Read 75 books from your TBR pile/s
Mt. Everest: Read 100 books from your TBR pile/s

Mount Olympus (Mars): Read 150+ books from your TBR pile/s

My Reader’s Block Rules

Once you choose your challenge level, you are locked in for at least that many books. If you find that you’re on a mountain-climbing roll and want to tackle a taller mountain, then you are certainly welcome to upgrade.  All books counted for lower mountains carry over towards the new peak.

Challenge runs from January 1 to December 31, 2017.

You may sign up anytime from now until November 1st, 2017 on My Reader’s Block.

Books must be owned by you prior to January 1, 2017. No library books.

Rereads may count only in the following circumstances: If you did not own the book when you read it long ago and far away [based on your age, you can decide what that might mean–definitely not within the last five years…my arbitrary pick for a limit] and you bought the book pre-January 1, 2017 intending to reread it now that it’s your very own.  [To clarify–the intention is to reduce the stack of books that you have bought for yourself or received as presents {birthday, Christmas, “just because,” etc.}. Audiobooks and E-books may count if they are yours and they are one of your primary sources of backlogged books.]

You may count any “currently reading” book that you begin prior to January 1 —  provided that you had 50% or more of the book left to finish when January 1 rolled around.  I will trust you all on that. 

You may count “Did Not Finish” books provided they meet your own standard for such things, you do not plan to ever finish it, and you move it off your mountain [give it away, sell it, etc. OR remove it from your e-resources]. For example, my personal rule (unless it’s a very short book) is to give a book at least 100 pages. If I decide I just can’t finish it and won’t ever, then off the mountain it goes and I count it as a victory–the stack is smaller!  

Books may be used to count for other challenges as well.

Feel free to submit your list in advance (as incentive to really get those books taken care of) or to tally them as you climb.

There will be quarterly check-ins and prize drawings!

A blog and reviews are not necessary to participate. If you have a blog, then please post a challenge sign up and link THAT post (not your home page) into the linky. Non-bloggers, please leave a comment declaring your challenge level — OR, if you are a member of Goodreads, I will once again put together a group for the challenge there. Feel free to sign up HERE if that’s where you want to participate. At the beginning of the year, I will update the sidebar link called Mount TBR Review Headquarters for current reviews and progress updates.

6 thoughts on “Mount TBR Challenge

    1. That might be option,Annabel, except that I’d baulk at only TBR books! I prefer to go with gut feeling and leaving choices open. But a Dare is certainly a discipline that I ought to knuckle down to … just not now. 🙂

Do leave a comment

