Literally challenged

Via Goodwill Librarian on FacebookPost by Goodwill Librarian.

I’m not an organised sort of person. I like to think I’m spontaneous, but I’m told that this my euphemism for lazy. I’m allergic to lists, whether written by someone else or, especially, by me. And lists of New Year’s resolutions? Forget it.

What, however, if the list was about something close to my heart, something I blog about? This Reading Challenge from Goodwill Librarian on Facebook lists fifty-two cues to help the floundering reader lost at sea with no lifelines. The idea, I suppose, is to research the cue, then spend a week reading the title you’ve chosen, all to take a year. And there are a lot of options, aren’t there?

Too much to take in? Looking at the list, many of the choices can be combined. A book with more than 500 pages can also be one by an author you’ve never read before. A book based entirely on its cover could easily be a graphic novel as well. A book by a female author (hmm, I wonder if the list was written by a man?) might also be authored by a writer with one’s own initials. And so on. This is starting to become more manageable.

Here’s how I might  proceed. First I’ll look at my shelves and decide which book or books I want to read or re-read. Then I’ll see which box or boxes it ticks. Then on to the next one. As the year goes on, with many boxes ticked, I can see where the gaps are and make more of a conscious effort to search for a book that’s won a Pulitzer (or any other) prize, includes a colour in its title, counts as a memoir or has garnered bad reviews. Or indeed, fits two or more of these categories.

Or, remembering that allergy, I might not.

9 thoughts on “Literally challenged

  1. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review

    This looks like fun, but realistically I would never get to all of them in a year! Maybe one could also pick ten categories, or some reasonable number? Some are not very challenging — “a book by a female author” or “a funny book” — while others are more intriguing and different — “a book set in my hometown” or “a book my mom loves” or “a book I was supposed to read in school but didn’t.” Maybe you would be less allergic to a list if you made your own choices?

  2. I agree, some aren’t really challenges, as you say, but it might be fun to see what ones I would normally cover in a year anyway. It sounds as if it would be more of a struggle for those who only read one genre, or stuck to a handful of authors, rather than the more omnivorous among us!

    I suspect, Lory, if I even take this half seriously, that I’ll read what I would do normally, pausing only to tick off whatever happens to feature on the list. If I remember. Anyway, that’ll be post topic scheduled for for late.December 2014.

    (My mother only read Reader’s Digest condensed books, if my memory serves me right. Not a category I’m looking forward to…)

  3. As a rule I do not like reading lists. I have a problem with authority and lists seem as if someone is trying to tell me what to read. However, in years past I have participated in group reads based on lists and stumbled across some great reads because of it. This list does look interesting. It might serve well as a guide rather than a must do list.

    1. “A problem with authority…” Ah, us rebels, Sari, you can’t stifle that independent spirit! I don’t like prescriptive lists either (though I do follow IKEA instructions precisely!) but there’s certainly enough pointers here to get us thinking creatively.

  4. Pingback: Resolution for 2015: To Dwell in Possibility–and in Books | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

  5. Pingback: Caving in to peer pressure … | Lizzie Ross

  6. Pingback: Literally challenged: update | calmgrove

Do leave a comment

