The original Elizabeth Bennet? Update

A letter from Jane, which explains itself:
“I am a Bennet – directly descended from the Bennet’s of Widcombe Manor of Bath. My 4 x Great Grandfather was best pals with with Ralph Allen of Prior Park. Bennets are buried in a Tomb next door to Widcombe Manor – Church of St Thomas a Becket. It is very probably that the Bennet reference in Jane Austen’s book was related to my ancestors – they were wealthy and prominent in Bath at the time. Bennett Street in Bath is named after them, albeit the current spelling is correct – only 1 x t in the name. I don’t know of the Benet on the monument – I have extensive information on my ancestors but of course, there could be a connection that I have missed.”

Calmgrove

Elizabeth Benet

Visiting Bath Abbey in April this year I chanced on this curious memorial on the east wall of the south transept.

Close inspection revealed the name of one Elizabeth Benet

View original post 228 more words

2 thoughts on “The original Elizabeth Bennet? Update

Do leave a comment

