Spam, wonderful spam…

spam

Akismet are the people who monitor WordPress blogs for spam. Well of course you knew that.

In their own words they monitor millions of blogs and forums, watching the methods and tricks used by spammers in real time. We know all about their spambots, comment factories, buffer sites and social engineering tricks. Akismet will use this knowledge to warn you when a spammer – automated or human – tries to sneak a spam comment past you.

So if you notice a comment in your spam folder from someone you don’t know, or linking to a web site you’ve never seen before, take a good look at it before you hit the Unspam button: in all likelihood, Akismet put it there for a reason.

This is a great service, and until about four days ago I very much appreciated it. I’d check the comments before deleting them and, yes, they were all bona fide (is that the right term to use in this case?) spam.

But on the 12th July I started to find that comments I’d posted on blogs I followed were disappearing just as soon I clicked on the ‘Post Comment’ button. Browsing WordPress Support Forums showed that I was very much not alone; and one blogger claimed that they’d had this problem for fifteen months. Surely when Akismet say their quest is “to rid the web of spam” they didn’t have this in mind?

WordPress staff assure us that Akismet are working hard to solve this issue on a case-by-case basis, and ask bloggers with this problem to be patient. In turn I wish to reassure bloggers I follow that if they’re not receiving my usual compliments or argumentative discourses it’s not because I’m neglecting them; you might just need to check your spam folder.

Of course I’d tell them all personally, but in the current circumstances…

Spam, wonderful spam.

20 thoughts on “Spam, wonderful spam…

    1. It’s been suggested by WordPress that it’s an issue with Sky and BT broadband customers in the UK; a rumour has it that it’s because of a recent Akismet spam filter upgrade; and a number of us in a support forum have been rapped over the knuckles for effectively giving succour to the enemy (aka ‘spammers’) by asking for information of what exactly is going on. Apparently we have to be ‘patient’ and ‘trust’ the engineers, who will solve the problem at some unspecified time in the future, and not ask questions.

      It’s starting to sound very political.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that you are experiencing this as well. It hasn’t been fun. I wish you the best of luck. And I found your comment in my spam folder. I pulled you out. At least we met via this unfortunate disaster. Howdy!

    1. Hi to you too! Profound commiserations; at least I was able to approve your comment here.

      A WP staff member tells us this morning that “The problem appears to be fixed now.”

      No it isn’t. I just tried to reply to you on your blog and my comment … disappeared. Guess where!

          1. Oh that’s a good idea. May consider that tomorrow morning as well if I can still comment that is 😉 Thanks for the idea. Let me know if you do so we can link up our posts (that is if you don’t mind).

  2. Yes, whatdoyouknow, I just found one of your lovely comments stashed in my spam folder. Those rats. We live for comments!
    I will admit, I am glad I haven’t had to unpublish the many “Great blog, buy my spammy spam machine to drive traffic to your great blog” comments.

    1. Exactly! Comments prove we are not alone in our little private blogging worlds, they show us that truths can be out there as much as in our own navel-gazing activities.

      I do occasionally read the spam posts, as much for their atrocious grammar and non sequiturs as for their outrageous claims. But mostly I delete permanently.

Do leave a comment

